National Tax Association

National Tax Journal


The goal of the National Tax Journal (NTJ) is to encourage and disseminate high quality original research on governmental tax and expenditure policies. The focus of the NTJ is on rigorous economic analyses of tax and expenditure issues, with an emphasis on applied and empirical work and its policy implications. The NTJ is published quarterly under the auspices of the National Tax Association (NTA) and is distributed to an international readership. Articles published in the regular March, June and September issues of the journal as well as articles accepted for publication in special issues of the journal are subject to professional peer review. Most regular issues include an NTJ Forum, which consists of invited papers by leading scholars that examine in depth a single current tax or expenditure policy issue. The December issue is devoted to publishing papers presented at the NTA’s annual spring symposium. Forum papers and the articles in the December issue generally are not subject to peer review.


The National Tax Journal is housed at, and receives financial support from, Rice University.


George R. Zodrow, Rice University
William M. Gentry, Williams College


John W. Diamond, Rice University


Dorey A. Zodrow, Rice University


Rosanne Altshuler, Rutgers University 
Alan Auerbach, University of California, Berkeley
Robin Boadway, Queens University, Ontario
Stacy Dickert-Conlin, Michigan State University
Thomas Downes, Tufts University
William Fox, The University of Tennessee
William Gale, Brookings Institution
Douglas Holtz-Eakin, DHE Consulting, LLC
R. Glenn Hubbard, Columbia Business School
Louis Kaplow, Harvard Law School
Brian Knight, Brown University
Therese McGuire, Northwestern University
Lillian Mills, The University of Texas, McCombs Business School
Leslie Papke, Michigan State University
James Poterba, MIT
Elizabeth Powers, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
Harvey Rosen, Princeton University
John Karl Scholtz, University of Wisconsin, Madison
David Sjoquist, Georgia State University
Joel Slemrod, University of Michigan
David Wildasin, University of Kentucky


Submissions to the NTJ should not exceed 50 double-spaced pages, including tables, figures, footnotes, references, and appendices, and should include an abstract of 100 or fewer words and a list of keywords and JEL classification codes.

All new manuscripts must be submitted online at

In preparing papers for the Journal, authors should bear in mind the diverse membership of the NTA, which includes academic, private-sector, and government economists, accountants and attorneys, as well as business and government tax practitioners—and write in a style accessible to all these individuals. Technical and methodological discussions should be kept to a minimum and placed in an appendix as appropriate. Authors may note in their paper that additional information regarding their methods and results is available upon request or online.

Material previously published or scheduled or submitted for publication elsewhere will not be considered by the NTJ.

Manuscripts accepted for publication must conform to the NTJ Style Guidelines.

Requests for book reviews should include a copy of the book and be sent to:

Dorey A. Zodrow
Managing Editor, National Tax Journal
Rice University Economics Department
6100 Main Street, MS-22
Houston, TX 77005-1827

All other correspondence may be sent electronically to [email protected].


The National Tax Journal is indexed in the following: Journal of Economic Literature; Social Science Citation Index; Current Contents; Index to Legal Periodicals; Public Affairs Information Service; Business Periodical Index; Banking Literature Index; Business Index; Current Law Index; Legal Resource Index; Key to Economic Science; Trade and Industry Index; The Accountants' Index; Current Index to Journals in Education; RePEc (Research Papers in Economics); and JSTOR.


The annual subscription rate is $110.00 ($350.00 library) per year for domestic subscribers and $120.00 ($365.00 library) per year for foreign subscribers. Subscription includes the Proceedings of the Annual Conference on Taxation. Please order your subscription using this form. Single back issues of the Journal may be purchased, if available, for $50.


Since 1999, the Richard Musgrave Prize has been presented annually to the author(s) of the most outstanding paper published in the National Tax Journal. With this award, the National Tax Association both recognizes Richard Musgrave’s contributions to the theory and practice of public finance and honors authors of outstanding new contributions to the field. Each year, all refereed papers published in the March, June and September issues are automatically eligible for the award. The selection is made by members of the NTJ’s Editorial Advisory Board. The following are the past winners of the Richard Musgrave Prize:


2015 Tim Dowd, Robert McClelland, and Athiphat Muthitacharoen, "New Evidence on the Tax Elasticity of Capital Gains"

2014 Kalena E. Cortes and Andrew I. Friedson, "Ranking up by Moving Out: The Effect of the Texas Top 10% Plan on Proverty Value"

2013 H. Spencer Banzhaf and Wallace E. Oates, "On Fiscal Illusion in Local Public Finance: Re-examining Richardian Equivalence and the Renter Effect"

2012 Richard V. Burkhauser, Jeff Larrimore, and Kosali I. Simon, "A 'Second Opinion' on the Economics Health of the American Middle Class"

2011 Wen Wang, William D. Duncombe, and John M. Yinger, "School District Responses to Matching Aid Programs for Capital Facilities: A Case Study of New York's Building Aid Program."

2010  Katie Fitzpatrick and Jeffrey P. Thompson, "The Interaction of Metropolitan Cost-of-Livng adn the Federal Earned Income Tax Credit: One Size Fits All?"

2009 Sara LaLumia, "The Earned Income Tax Credit and Reported Self -Employment Income"

2008 Michael Lovenheim, "How Far to the Border?: The Extent and Impact of Cross-Border Casual Cigarette Smuggling"

2007 Roger Gordon and Young Lee, "Interest Rates, Taxes and Corporate Financial Policies"

2006 Nathan B. Anderson, "Beggar Thy Neighbor? Property Taxation of Vacation Homes"

2005 Michale J. Brunetti, "The Estate Tax and Charitable Bequests: Elasticity Estimates Using Probate Records"

2004 David A. Weisbach, "Taxation and Risk-Taking with Multiple Tax Rates"

2003 Jonathan Gruber and Peter Orszag, "Does the Social Security Earnings Test Affect Labor Supply and Benefits Receipt?"

2002 Donald Bruce, "Taxes and Entrepreneurial Endurance: Evidence from the Self-Employed"

2001 Jan K. Brueckner and Luz A. Saavedra, "Do Local Governments Engage in Strategic Property-Tax Competition?"

2000 Harry Grubert and James Mackie, "Must Financial Services Be Taxed Under a Consumption Tax?"

1999 Timothy J. Besley and Harvey S. Rosen, "Sales Taxes and Prices: An Empirical Analysis"




Each year, the NTJ recognizes one or two individuals who provided the journal with stellar refereeing over the course of the year. Their reports stood out as being particularly insightful, thorough and constructive, and provided the editors with invaluable assistance in the editorial process. The following are the past winners of the Referee of the Year Award:


2015 Donal Bruce and Alan D. Viard

2014 Gilbert E. Metcalf and Robert Yetman

2013 Adam J. Cole and Michael Lovenheim

2012 LeAnn Luna and Jonathan C. Rork

2011 Laura Kalambokidis and David Sjoquist

2010 Jon Bakija and Michelle Hanlon

2009 Todd Sinai and Seth Giertz

2008 James X. Sullivan and James Alm

2007 Edward Maydew and Joe A. Stone

2006 Matthew Murray and William T. Bogart

2005 Wojciech Kopczuk and Elizabeth Plummer