2022 NTA Equity & Inclusion Travel Fellowship Recipients

The Equity & Inclusion Travel Fellowship provides conference travel funding with the goal of increasing participation in and creating long-lasting relationships with the National Tax Association and its activities among underrepresented minority (URM) graduate students and early career Ph.D.s/J.D.s engaged in the theory and practice of public finance, including public taxation, spending, and borrowing. The Fellowships will cover hotel, conference registration, and a travel cost offset.

Underrepresented minority scholars face a variety of systemic barriers and may lack peers, role models, or mentors in their own departments and networks. Professional conferences, like the NTA, are a helpful place to build relationships outside of one’s own academic and professional settings. The aim of this fellowship is to provide an opportunity for junior scholars to participate in and network with the NTA community.

All Ph.D. or J.D. advanced graduate students (4th year or later for Ph.D. candidates, 2nd or 3rd year for law students) or early career graduates (fewer than 6 years since graduate degree) with interests in the theory and practice of public finance, who are members of an underrepresented minority group. Underrepresented minorities include persons who identify as American Indian, Alaskan Native, Black (not of Hispanic origin), Hispanic (including persons of Mexican, Puerto Rican, Cuban, and Central or South American origin) or, Pacific Islander. Eligible fellowship recipients will also be a U.S. Citizen, Permanent Legal Resident, DACA or Eligible Non-Citizen (as defined by FAFSA). 

The travel fellowship is inspired by the successful American Economic Association URM Travel Grants and the Association for Public Policy Analysis and Management Equity and Inclusion Fellowships.

Steven Dean, Stacy Dickert-Conlin, Tatiana Homonoff, Laura Kawano, Elena Patel, & Michael Udell

The funding for this event is generously provided by the NTA and the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania.

2022 Recipients

Bathusi Gabanatlhong, Charles University

Matias Giaccobasso, University of California, Los Angeles

Luisa Godinez Puig, Boston University

Andrea Lopez-Luzuriaga, The George Washington University

Adam Slade, University of Illinois at Chicago