Tag: awards

2020 Dissertation Award Honorable Mention: Amelia (Molly) Hawkins

Amelia (Molly) Hawkins, University of Michigan, will be awarded an honorable mention at the 2020 Virtual NTA Annual Conference. Amelia is an Assistant Professor of Economics at Brandeis University.  Her primary fields are public finance and labor economics. In her research she explores how social insurance and public assistance programs affect decision making of individuals and firms, with a… Read more »

Janet Holtzblatt, 2020 Davie-Davis Award Recipient

Janet Holtzblatt is the recipient of the 2020 Davie-Davis Public Service award. Janet is a senior fellow at the Urban-Brookings Tax Policy Center. Over a three-decade career in the federal government, she worked on a broad range of tax policy issues, with emphasis on the tax treatment of families and workers, health reform, the administration… Read more »

2019 Dissertation Award Honorable Mention: Terry (Seok Min) Moon

Terry (Seok Min) Moon is an Assistant Professor of Economics at the University of British Columbia. His research interests lie at the intersection of public economics and corporate finance. Broadly, the main goal of his current research is to understand how market frictions affect real investment and resource allocations in the economy. In particular, he… Read more »

2019 Dissertation Award Honorable Mention: Michael Stepner

Michael Stepner, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, will be awarded an honorable mention at the 2019 NTA Annual Conference in Tampa. Michael is a postdoctoral fellow in Retirement and Disability Policy Research at the National Bureau of Economic Research, and a postdoctoral affiliate at Harvard Economics Opportunity Insights. His research examines how social insurance affects equity… Read more »

Cailin Slattery, 2019 Dissertation Award Winner

Cailin Slattery has won the NTA’s Outstanding Dissertation Prize for 2019. She will accept the award at the NTA Annual Conference in Tampa. Cailin Slattery is an Assistant Professor in the Economics Division at Columbia Business School. Her primary fields of interest are industrial organization, public finance, and urban economics. In particular, she studies how… Read more »

Mark Mazur, 2019 Davie-Davis Award Recipient

Dr. Mark Mazur is the recipient of the 2019 Davie-Davis Public Service award. Mark’s distinguished career includes service in academia, government, and the non-profit sector. He is currently the Robert C. Pozen Director of the Urban-Brookings Tax Policy Center. Mark received his Ph.D. from Stanford Graduate School of Business. After four years as an assistant… Read more »

David Schönholzer, 2018 Dissertation Award Winner

David Schönholzer has won the NTA’s Outstanding Dissertation Prize for 2018. David is a Postdoctoral Associate at the Cowles Foundation at Yale University. He is a political economist studying the efficient provision of public goods, the role of governance, and the development of state capacity. His work speaks to issues in local public finance in… Read more »

Donald Kiefer, 2018 Davie-Davis Award Recipient

Dr. Don Kiefer is the recipient of the 2018 Davie-Davis Public Service Award. Don has served at both the state and federal levels of government, and has published papers and articles to inform policymakers and the public in their deliberations of state and national tax policy. He received his Ph.D. in economics from Purdue University in… Read more »

Presentation of the 2018 Davie-Davis award

The Davie-Davis Public Service Award was created in memory of two long-time NTA members, Bruce F. Davie and Albert J. Davis. The Award honors NTA members who have followed Bruce Davie and Al Davis in serving the public through the provision of insightful analyses and objective advice on issues of taxation and government finance to… Read more »

James R. Hines Jr., 2017 Holland Award Recipient

The Daniel M. Holland Medal was created in 1993 in the memory of Dan Holland, a Professor of Economics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology Sloan School of Management, who was an internationally recognized researcher, teacher, and practitioner in public finance. The Holland Medal, which is the most prestigious award given by the NTA, recognizes… Read more »