Tag: awards

2017 Dissertation Award Winners

Jacob Bastian and Michael Gilraine have won the NTA’s Outstanding Dissertation Prize for 2017. Jacob is a postdoctoral scholar at the University of Chicago’s Harris School of Public Policy. He received his Ph.D. in economics from the University of Michigan. Michael is an Assistant Professor of Economics at New York University. He received his Ph.D…. Read more »

Geraldine Gerardi, 2017 Davie-Davis Award Recipient

Geraldine “Gerry” Gerardi undertook analyses of economic policies for the federal government for nearly 40 years. Most of her career was spent at the Treasury Department’s Office of Tax Analysis, where she served as Director of the Business and International Taxation Division. Gerry contributed analyses to Treasury’s major tax reform proposals from 1977 to 2012,… Read more »

Presentation of the 2017 Davie-Davis award

I now am privileged to undertake one of the most pleasant tasks of the NTA presidency—the presentation of the 2017 Davie-Davis Public Service Award. As most of you know, the Davie-Davis Award was created in memory of two long-time National Tax Association members, Bruce F. Davie and Albert J. Davis, who spent their full and illustrious… Read more »

Benjamin Lockwood, 2016 Dissertation Award Recipient

Benjamin Lockwood has won the NTA’s Outstanding Dissertation Prize for 2016. Benjamin is an Assistant Professor of Business Economics and Public Policy at the University of Pennsylvania’s Wharton School. His primary field of research is public finance, with a focus on optimal taxation and behavioral economics. His research uses theory and computational simulations to understand… Read more »

Itzik Fadlon, 2015 Dissertation Award Recipient

Itzik Fadlon has won the NTA‘s Outstanding Dissertation Prize for 2015. Itzik is an Assistant Professor of Economics at the University of California, San Diego and a Faculty Research Fellow in the Economics of Aging Program at the National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER). His primary fields of interest are public finance, health economics, and… Read more »

Leonard E. Burman, 2016 Davie-Davis Award Recipient

Len Burman is the Robert C. Pozen Director of the Tax Policy Center, the Paul Volcker Professor and a Professor of Public Administration and International Affairs at the Maxwell School of Syracuse University, and senior research associate at Syracuse University’s Center for Policy Research. He co-founded the Tax Policy Center, a joint project of the… Read more »

Presentation of the 2016 Davie-Davis award

As President of the NTA, I have the privilege of presenting this year’s Davie-Davis Public Service Award. The Award was created in 2005 in memory of two long-time National Tax Association members, Bruce Davie and Albert Davis. Both were dedicated public servants who were known for both their intelligence and their wit. The Award honors… Read more »