The National Tax Association proudly administers several distinguished awards for research, career achievements, public service and refereeing. The Association congratulates the most recent award winners. The 2019 Outstanding Dissertation Awards, NTJ Richard Musgrave Prize and NTJ Referee of the Year Award will be announced before the 2019 Annual Conference on Taxation.

2018 Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation in Government Finance and Taxation

David Schönholzer, University of California, Berkeley
Essays on State Capacity and Local Public Goods

Honorable Mention

Steven Hamilton, University of Michigan
Essays in Tax Policy Evaluation

Benjamin Hyman, The Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania
Essays in Public Economics and International Trade

The Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation award recognizes exemplary dissertation research in government finance and taxation … more

2018 Daniel M. Holland Medal

Michael Keen, International Monetary Fund

The Daniel M. Holland Medal recognizes outstanding contributions to the study and practice of public finance … more

2019 Davie-Davis Public Service Award

Mark Mazur, Urban-Brookings Tax Policy Center

The Davie-Davis award honors members who serve the public through the provision of expert analyses and objective advice to elected officials, other policy makers, and the general public … more

2018 Steven D. Gold Award

Therese McGuire, Kellogg School of Management, Northwestern University

The Steven D. Gold award honors professionals who have made significant contributions to state and local fiscal policy … more

2018 NTJ Richard Musgrave Prize

Trevor Gallen and Casey Mulligan, “Wedges, Labor Market Behavior, and Health Insurance Coverage under the Affordable Care Act,” National Tax Journal, 71:1

The annual Richard Musgrave prize highlights the most outstanding paper published in the National Tax Journal … more

2018 NTJ Referee of the Year Award

Andrew Hanson, Congressional Budget Office
Nick Turner, Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System

The NTJ Referee of the Year Award recognizes two individuals each year who have been exceptionally helpful as referees … more