Steven D. Gold Award

The Steven D. Gold Award was created in 1997 in memory of Steve Gold, who had an exemplary career as an analyst, researcher, and teacher, specializing in issues related to state and local public finance and intergovernmental relations. In addition to being a long-time member of the National Tax Association, Gold held positions at the National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL), as director of the Center for the Study of the States at the Rockefeller Institute, as a professor at the State University of New York-Albany, and as co-director of the Urban Institute’s New Federalism Project. The award is given annually by the NTA, the NCSL, and the Association for Public Policy Analysis and Management — all organizations in which he was an active member — with the winner selected by one of the three organizations each year on a rotating basis.

The Gold Award honors individuals who have made significant contributions to state and local fiscal policy and have demonstrated a capacity to cross the boundaries between academic research and public policy making. Current NTA officers and members of the Board of Directors are ineligible for nomination while serving.


2023 Daniel Williams
2022 Holly Lyons
2021 Joan Youngman*
2020 Robert Costrell
2019 David Teal
2018 Therese McGuire*
2017 John M. Yinger
2016 Jonathan Ball
2015 John Mikesell*
2014 Ronald Fisher
2013 Stephen Klein
2012 David Sjoquist*
2011 Andrew Reschovsky
2010 Gary Olson
2009 George Zodrow*
2008 Elizabeth Hill
2007 Bob Lang
2006 Gary Cornia*
2005 Robert Strauss
2004 David Crotts
2003 William Fox*
2002 Helen Ladd
2001 Robert Keaton
2000 Robert Ebel*
1999 Iris Lav and Robert Greenstein
1998 Victor Vernon
1997 John Shannon*

* Recipient selected by the National Tax Association